Communicator Central

Communicator Directory

Schools and Colleges

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences
http://trinity.duke.edu/

Department of African and African American Studies
Camille Jackson, Director of Communications
camille.jackson@duke.edu
919-668-2995
https://aaas.duke.edu

Department of Economics
Sarah Tung, communications specialist
sarah.tung@duke.edu
919-660-1895
https://econ.duke.edu/

English Department
Quanta Holden,web and communications specialist
quanta.holden@duke.edu
919-684-2203
https://english.duke.edu

Music Department
Elizabeth Thompson, promotions specialist
ethomps@duke.edu
919-660-3333
https://music.duke.edu/events

Department of Political Science
Shaun King, communications specialist
shaun.king@duke.edu
919-660-4344
https://polisci.duke.edu/

Department of Theater Studies
Dierdre Shipman, director of theater and communications
dierdre.shipman@duke.edu
919-660-3346
http://theaterstudies.duke.edu/

Divinity School
Audrey Ward, associate dean, communications
audrey.ward@duke.edu
919-660-3416
http://www.divinity.duke.edu/news-media

Fuqua School of Business
Elizabeth Hogan, associate dean, global marketing
elizabeth.hogan@duke.edu
919-660 7714
http://fuqua.duke.edu/

 

Graduate School
John Zhu, senior public affairs officer
john.zhu@duke.edu
919-684-1665
http://gradschool.duke.edu/

Law School
Andrew Park, executive director of communications and events
andrew.park@law.duke.edu
919-613-7034
http://www.law.duke.edu/news/

School of Medicine
Jill Boy, associate dean, communications
jill.boy@duke.edu
919-613-8637
http://medschool.duke.edu/
Other communications contacts: http://medschool.duke.edu/communications/communicators-network/primary-contacts

Nicholas School of the Environment
Scottee Cantrell, associate dean, communications
scottee@duke.edu
919-613-8074
http://www.nicholas.duke.edu/news

School of Nursing
Michael Evans, director of communications
michael.evans2@duke.edu
919-684-9356
http://nursing.duke.edu/

Pratt School of Engineering
Minnie Glymph, executive director of communications
minnie.glymph@duke.edu
919-660-8403
http://www.pratt.duke.edu/

Sanford School of Public Policy
Karen Kemp, assistant dean for communications and marketing
karen.kemp@duke.edu
919-613-7394
http://sanford.duke.edu/

Institutes and Centers

Duke Institute for Brain Sciences (DIBS)
Katharine Neal, director of communications
katharine.neal@duke.edu
919-740-5673
http://dibs.duke.edu

Cancer Institute
Karen E. Butler, director of communications
karen.e.butler@duke.edu
919-684-3752
http://www.cancer.duke.edu/

Career Center
Megan Wilson, program and marketing coordinator
megan.wilson@duke.edu
919-660-1076
http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/career

Clinical Research Institute
Susan Landis, head of strategic communications
susan.landis@duke.edu
919-668-5769
http://www.dcri.duke.edu/

Center for Child and Family Policy
Sarah Herring, director of communications
s.herring@duke.edu
919-613-9350
http://www.childandfamilypolicy.duke.edu

Center for Documentary Studies
Elizabeth Phillips, communications director
elizabeth.d.phillips@duke.edu
919-660-3668
http://documentarystudies.duke.edu/

Duke Initiative for Science & Society
Ben Shepard, assistant director,  marketing & communications
ben.shepard@duke.edu
919-668-0055
http://scienceandsociety.duke.edu/

Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy
http://healthpolicy.duke.edu/

Energy Initiative
Braden Welborn, associate director of communications
braden.welborn@duke.edu
919-613-0436
http://energy.duke.edu/

Forum for Scholars & Publics
Natalie Robles, social media & digital projects specialist
natalie.robles@duke.edu
919-660-3052
http://fsp.trinity.duke.edu/

Global Health Institute
Michael Penn, director of communication, marketing, and alumni relations
michael.penn@daa.duke.edu
919-681-6217
http://globalhealth.duke.edu/media/news

Human Vaccine Institute
Meagan Daly, communications specialist
meagan.daly@duke.edu
919-684-8891
http://dhvi.duke.edu/

Innovation + Entrepreneurship Initiative
Dani Zapotoczny, communications strategist
dani.zapotoczny@duke.edu
919-613-6320
http://entrepreneurship.duke.edu

John Hope Franklin Humanities Institute
Christina Chia, assistant director for programs & communications
christina.chia@duke.edu
919-668-1902
http://www.fhi.duke.edu/

Kenan Institute for Ethics
http://kenan.ethics.duke.edu/

Lemur Center
Sara Clark, communications director/guest experiences manager
sara.clark@duke.edu
919-401-7251
http://lemur.duke.edu/

Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions
Erin McKenzie, public relations specialist
erin.mckenzie@duke.edu
919-613-3652
http://www.nicholasinstitute.duke.edu/

Online Education Initiative
Courtney Lockemer, senior public relations specialist
courtney.lockemer@duke.edu
919-660-8463
http://online.duke.edu

Samuel DuBois Cook Center on Social Equity
http://socialequity.duke.edu/

Social Sciences Research Institute
Courtney Orning, communications director
courtney.orning@duke.edu
919-681-1972
http://www.ssri.duke.edu/

Departments

Athletics
Jon Jackson, senior associate athletic director for university and public affairs
jackson@duaa.duke.edu
919-684-2633
Art Chase, sports information director
chasea@duaa.duke.edu
919-684-2633
http://www.goduke.com/

Libraries
Aaron Welborn, director of communications
aaron.welborn@duke.edu
919-660-5816
http://library.duke.edu/

University Development
Tracey Temne, executive director of development marketing and communications
tracey.temne@duke.edu
919-681-0448
http://giving.duke.edu

Duke in D.C.
Jeff Harris, director, Duke in D.C.
jeff.harris@duke.edu
202-524-4992
https://dukeindc.duke.edu

Alumni Affairs
Christina Holder, senior director of communications and marketing
christina.holder@duke.edu
919-684-8310
http://www.dukealumni.com/

Office of the Vice Provost for the Arts
Katy Clune, arts communications specialist
katy.clune@duke.edu
919-660-6682
http://www.arts.duke.edu

Chapel
James Todd, communications manager
james.todd@duke.edu
919-681-0332
http://www.chapel.duke.edu

Programs

Bass Connections at Duke
Sarah Dwyer, director of communications, interdisciplinary studies at Duke
sarah.dwyer@duke.edu
919-684-5379
http://bassconnections.duke.edu/

DukeEngage
Cathy Stamm, director of communications
cathy.stamm@duke.edu
919-660-3228
http://dukeengage.duke.edu/

Duke Performances
http://dukeperformances.duke.edu/

Duke University Press
Laura Sell, books publicity & advertising manager
lsell@dukeupress.edu
919-687-3639
http://www.dukeupress.edu/

Environmental Sustainability
Tavey McDaniel Capps, environmental sustainability director
tavey.mcdaniel@duke.edu
919-660-1434
http://sustainability.duke.edu/

Full Frame Film Festival
Michelle Benham, marketing director
michelle.benham@fullframefest.org
919-433-9802
http://www.fullframefest.org

Leadership Education at Duke Divinity
Kelly Gilmer, executive director
kgilmer@div.duke.edu
919-613-5338
http://www.faithandleadership.com/

Office of Civic Engagement
Lindsey Miller, communications specialist
lindsey.miller@duke.edu
919-6678-0456
http://civic.duke.edu

Talent Identification Program (TIP)
Katy Munger, director of communications
kathleen.munger@duke.edu
919-668-9153
http://www.tip.duke.edu/

 

Public Affairs and Government Relations

University Communications
Main office: 919-684-2823
Kristen Brown, associate vice president
k.brown@duke.edu
919-684-6815

Laura Brinn, assistant vice president
laura.brinn@duke.edu
919-681-8975

Keith Lawrence, executive director
keith.lawrence@duke.edu
919-681-8059
http://newsoffice.duke.edu/

Duke Event Calendar
Anne Light, project manager
anne.light@duke.edu
919-684-5590
http://calendar.duke.edu/

Duke Today
Geoffrey Mock, Duke Today news editor
geoffrey.mock@duke.edu
919-681-4514
http://today.duke.edu/

Office of Federal Relations
Christopher Simmons, associate vice president
chris.simmons@duke.edu
919-668-6270
http://federalrelations.duke.edu/

Duke Research
Karl Bates, director of research communications
karl.bates@duke.edu
919-681-8054
http://research.duke.edu/

Social Media
Sonja Likness, director of social media and content strategy
sonja.likness@duke.edu
919-668-6114
http://socialmedia.duke.edu/

Offices and Administrative Units

Office of Durham Affairs
https://community.duke.edu

Sarah P. Duke Gardens
Orla Swift, director of marketing and communications
orla.swift@duke.edu
919-668-6451
http://gardens.duke.edu/

Duke Hospital
http://www.dukemedicine.org/locations/duke-university-hospital

Human Resource
Paul Grantham, assistant vice president of communication services
paul.grantham@duke.edu
919-681-4534
http://www.hr.duke.edu/

Human Resources/Working@Duke
Leanora Minai, executive director of communications, HR Communications
leanora.minai@duke.edu
919-681-4533
http://today.duke.edu/working

Office of Information Technology (OIT)
Jeannine Sato, communications strategist
j.sato@duke.edu
919-668-3295
http://www.oit.duke.edu/

Integrative Medicine
Eric Reese, marketing manager
eric.reese@duke.edu
919-660-6827
http://www.dukeintegrativemedicine.org/

Duke Magazine
Robert Bliwise, editor
robert.bliwise@daa.duke.edu
919-684-2883
http://www.dukemagazine.duke.edu/

Media Services
Tom Wilson, production supervisor
t.wilson@duke.edu
919-660-1742
http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/ucae/media-services/production-services

Medical Center/Duke Health
Doug Stokke, associate vice president, news & communications
doug.stokke@duke.edu
919-684-4148
http://corporate.dukemedicine.org/news_and_publications/news_office

Nasher Museum of Art
Wendy Hower, manager of marketing and communications
wendy.hower@duke.edu
919-684-3314
http://www.nasher.duke.edu/

Duke Police
Peter Jeffries, communications and records manager
peter.jeffries@duke.edu
919-684-2068
http://duke.edu/police

President’s Office
Maggie Epps, special assistant to the president
margaret.epps@duke.edu
919-684-8978
http://president.duke.edu/

Division of Student Affairs
Sophie Williams, director of communications
sophie.williams@duke.edu
919-684-3737

http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/

Office of Undergraduate Education
Susan Kauffman, director of communications
susan.kauffman@duke.edu
919-681-2844
http://undergraduatedean.duke.edu/
https://today.duke.edu/tags/students-undergraduate

Office of Undergraduate Scholars and Fellows (OUSF)
919-660-3070
http://ousf.duke.edu/

Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Sheena Cooper, marketing manager
scooper@wdigc.com
919-313-2822
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

 

Facebook Group for Duke Communicators

The Duke Communicators Facebook group is the online gathering place for members of the Duke University communications community. It’s where we meet to share news, ideas, jobs and other items of interest.

Professional Communicators (ProComm) Classes

Duke ProComm is a professional development program designed for and by communication professionals at Duke. The program provides opportunities for members of the Duke community to grow and develop in their current roles and gain the necessary experience for advancement.