Communicator Central

Facebook Group for Duke Communicators

The Duke Communicators Facebook group is the online gathering place for members of the Duke University communications community. It’s where we meet to share news, ideas, jobs and other items of interest.

Professional Communicators (ProComm)

Duke ProComm is a professional development program designed for and by communication professionals at Duke. The program provides opportunities for members of the Duke community to grow and develop in their current roles and gain the necessary experience for advancement.

Communicator Directory

Schools and Colleges

Arts & Sciences, Trinity College of
Deborah Hill, associate dean, communications
dahill@duke.edu
919-660-3211
http://trinity.duke.edu/

Business, Fuqua School of
Elizabeth Hogan, associate dean, global marketing
elizabeth.hogan@duke.edu
919-660 7714
http://fuqua.duke.edu/

Divinity School
Audrey Ward, associate dean, communications
audrey.ward@duke.edu
919-660-3416
http://www.divinity.duke.edu/news-media

Engineering, Pratt School of
Minnie Glymph, executive director of communications
minnie.glymph@duke.edu
919-660-8403
http://www.pratt.duke.edu/

Environment , Nicholas School of the
Scottee Cantrell, associate dean, communications
scottee@duke.edu
919-613-8074
http://www.nicholas.duke.edu/news

Graduate School
John Zhu, senior public affairs officer
john.zhu@duke.edu
919-684-1665
http://gradschool.duke.edu/

Law School
Andrew Park, executive director of communications and events
andrew.park@law.duke.edu
919-613-7034
http://www.law.duke.edu/news/

Medicine, School of
Jill Boy, associate dean, communications
jill.boy@duke.edu
919-613-8637
http://medschool.duke.edu/
Other communications contacts: http://medschool.duke.edu/communications/communicators-network/primary-contacts

Nursing, School of
Michael Evans, director of communications
michael.evans2@duke.edu
919-684-9356
http://nursing.duke.edu/

Public Policy, Sanford School of
Karen Kemp, assistant dean for communications and marketing
karen.kemp@duke.edu
919-613-7394
http://sanford.duke.edu/

Institutes and Centers

Brain Sciences, Duke Institute for
Julie Rhodes, director of communications
julie.rhodes@duke.edu
919-613-5014
http://dibs.duke.edu/

Cancer Institute
Karen E. Butler, director of communications
karen.e.butler@duke.edu
919-684-3752
http://www.cancer.duke.edu/

Career Center
Megan Wilson, program and marketing coordinator
megan.wilson@duke.edu
919-660-1076
http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/career

Clinical Research Institute
Susan Landis, head of strategic communications
susan.landis@duke.edu
919-668-5769
http://www.dcri.duke.edu/

Duke-Margolis, Center for Health Policy
Ellen de Graffenreid, communications director
ellen.degraffenreid@duke.edu
919-308-3944
http://healthpolicy.duke.edu/

Documentary Studies, Center for
Elizabeth Phillips, communications director
elizabeth.d.phillips@duke.edu
919-660-3668
http://documentarystudies.duke.edu/

Ethics, Kenan Institute for
Bryan Roth, communications and advancement manager
bryan.roth@duke.edu
919-660-3035
http://kenan.ethics.duke.edu/

Global Health Institute
Diana Harvey, associate director of communications and marketing
diana.harvey@duke.edu
919-681-7718
http://globalhealth.duke.edu/media/news

Human Vaccine Institute
Meagan Daly, communications specialist
meagan.daly@duke.edu
919-684-8891
http://dhvi.duke.edu/

Humanities Institute, John Hope Franklin
Christina Chia, assistant director for programs & communications
christina.chia@duke.edu
919-668-1902
http://www.fhi.duke.edu/

Lemur Center
Sara Clark, communications director/guest experiences manager
sara.clark@duke.edu
919-401-7251
http://lemur.duke.edu/

Scholars & Publics, Forum for
Natalie Robles, social media & digital projects specialist
natalie.robles@duke.edu
919-660-3052
http://fsp.trinity.duke.edu/

Science & Society, Duke Initiative for
Ben Shepard, marketing & communications professional
ben.shepard@duke.edu
919-668-0055
http://scienceandsociety.duke.edu/

Social Equity, Samuel DuBois Cook Center on
Camille Jackson, senior public relations specialist
camille.jackson@duke.edu
919-684-4807
http://socialequity.duke.edu/

Social Sciences Research Institute
Courtney Orning, communications director
courtney.orning@duke.edu
919-681-1972
http://www.ssri.duke.edu/

Departments and Programs

Athletics
Jon Jackson, associate athletic director for university and public affairs
jackson@duaa.duke.edu
919-684-2633
Art Chase, sports information director
chasea@duaa.duke.edu
919-684-2633
http://www.goduke.com/

Bass Connections at Duke
Sarah Dwyer, director of communications, interdisciplinary studies at Duke
sarah.dwyer@duke.edu
919-684-5379
http://bassconnections.duke.edu/

DukeEngage
Cathy Stamm, director of communications
cathy.stamm@duke.edu
919-660-3228
http://dukeengage.duke.edu/

Duke Performances
Ariel Fielding, marketing director
ariel.fielding@duke.edu
919-660-3348
http://dukeperformances.duke.edu/

Libraries
Aaron Welborn, director of communications
aaron.welborn@duke.edu
919-660-5816
http://library.duke.edu/

Music Department
Elizabeth Thompson, promotions specialist
ethomps@duke.edu
919-660-3333
http://music.duke.edu/news-events

Talent Identification Program (TIP)
Katy Munger, director of communications
kathleen.munger@duke.edu
919-668-9153
http://www.tip.duke.edu/

Theater Studies, Department of
Dierdre Shipman, director of theater and communications
dierdre.shipman@duke.edu
919-660-3346
http://theaterstudies.duke.edu/

Offices and Administrative Units

Alumni Affairs
Michael Penn, senior director of communications and marketing
michael.penn@duke.edu
919-681-6217
http://www.dukealumni.com/

Arts, Vice Provost Office
919-684-4687
http://arts.duke.edu/

Chapel
Adrienne Koch, special assistant for communications
adrienne.koch@duke.edu
919-684-2032
http://www.chapel.duke.edu/events

Civic Engagement, Office of
919-668-0249
http://civic.duke.edu/

Development, Office of University
Tracey Temne, executive director of development marketing and communications
tracey.temne@duke.edu
919-681-0448
http://dukeforward.duke.edu/news/

Digital and Strategic Communications
Blyth Morrell, director of digital communications and strategy
blyth.morrell@duke.edu
http://newsoffice.duke.edu/

Duke Today
Geoffrey Mock, Duke Today news editor and manager of internal communications
geoffrey.mock@duke.edu
919-681-4514
http://today.duke.edu/

Durham and Regional Affairs, Office of
VACANT
919-668-1967
https://community.duke.edu/

Energy Initiative
Braden Phillips-Welborn, associate director of communications
braden.welborn@duke.edu
919-613-1305
http://energy.duke.edu/

Entrepreneurship Initiative, Innovation &
Nancy Knowles, director of strategic communications
nancy.knowles@duke.edu
919-613-6320
http://entrepreneurship.duke.edu/

Federal Relations, Office of
Christopher Simmons, associate vice president
chris.simmons@duke.edu
919-668-6270
http://federalrelations.duke.edu/

Gardens, Sarah P. Duke
Orla Swift, director of marketing and communications
orla.swift@duke.edu
919-668-6451
http://gardens.duke.edu/

Global Communications
Laura Brinn, executive director
laura.brinn@duke.edu
919-681-8975
http://global.duke.edu/

Hospital, Duke
Antoinette Parker, director of communications
antoinette.parker@duke.edu
919-681-3149
http://www.dukemedicine.org/locations/duke-university-hospital

Human Resources
Paul Grantham, assistant vice president of communication services
paul.grantham@duke.edu
919-681-4534
http://www.hr.duke.edu/

Human Resources/Working@Duke
Leanora Minai, director of communications, HR Communications
leanora.minai@duke.edu
919-681-4533
http://today.duke.edu/working

Information Technology, Office of
Jeannine Sato, communications strategist
j.sato@duke.edu
919-668-3295
http://www.oit.duke.edu/

Integrative Medicine
Eric Reese, marketing manager
eric.reese@duke.edu
919-660-6827
http://www.dukeintegrativemedicine.org/

ISLAMiCommentary
Julie Poucher Harbin, writer
julie.harbin@duke.edu
919-681-1515
http://islamicommentary.org/

Leadership Education at Duke Divinity
Kelly Gilmer, executive director
kgilmer@div.duke.edu
919-613-5338
http://www.faithandleadership.com/

Marketing and Visual Communications
Denise Haviland, director of marketing and communications
denise.haviland@duke.edu
919-613-6771
http://newsoffice.duke.edu/

Magazine, Duke
Robert Bliwise, editor
robert.bliwise@daa.duke.edu
919-684-2883
http://www.dukemagazine.duke.edu/

Media Services
Tom Wilson, production supervisor
t.wilson@duke.edu
919-660-1742
http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/ucae/media-services/production-services

Medical Center/Duke Medicine
Doug Stokke, associate vice president, news & communications
doug.stokke@duke.edu
919-684-4148
http://corporate.dukemedicine.org/news_and_publications/news_office

Museum of Art, Nasher
Wendy Hower, manager of marketing and communications
wendy.hower@duke.edu
919-684-3314
http://www.nasher.duke.edu/

News & Communications, Office of
Main office and general media inquiries: 919-684-2823
Kristen Brown, associate vice president
kristen.a.brown@duke.edu
919-684-6815
Keith Lawrence, executive director
keith.lawrence@duke.edu
919-681-8059
http://newsoffice.duke.edu/

Online Education Initiative
Courtney Lockemer, senior public relations specialist
courtney.lockemer@duke.edu
919-660-8463
http://online.duke.edu

Photography
Chris Hildreth, director
hildreth@duke.edu
919-684-4391
http://dukephoto.duke.edu/

Police
Peter Jeffries, communications and records manager
peter.jeffries@duke.edu
919-684-2068
http://duke.edu/police

President’s Office
Carolyn Gerber, special assistant to the president
carolyn.gerber@duke.edu
919-684-2424
http://president.duke.edu/

Press, Duke University
Emily Young, books marketing director
eyoung@duke.edu
919-687-3654
http://www.dukeupress.edu/index.php

Research, Duke
Karl Bates, director of research communications
karl.bates@duke.edu
919-681-8054
http://research.duke.edu/

Social Media
Cara Rousseau, manager of social and digital media strategy
cara.rousseau@duke.edu
919-491-5018
http://socialmedia.duke.edu/

Student Affairs, Division of
Christian Heltne, director of communications
chris.heltne@duke.edu
919-684-3737
http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/

Sustainability, Environmental
Tavey McDaniel Capps, environmental sustainability director
tavey.mcdaniel@duke.edu
919-660-1434
http://sustainability.duke.edu/

Undergraduate Education, Office of
Susan Kauffman, director of communications
susan.kauffman@duke.edu
919-681-2844
http://undergraduatedean.duke.edu/
http://today.duke.edu/students

Undergraduate Scholars and Fellows, Office of (OUSF)
919-660-3070
http://ousf.duke.edu/

Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Sheena Cooper, marketing manager
scooper@wdigc.com
919-313-2822
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/