LinkedIn for Duke Communicators

The LinkedIn communicator network (restricted to Duke communicators) is the online gathering place for members of the Duke University communications community. It’s where we meet to share news, ideas, jobs and other items of interest. The site also includes links to Duke communications resources and policies, and background about our group’s members.

Professional Communicators (ProComm)

Duke ProComm is a professional development program designed for and by communication professionals at Duke. The program provides opportunities for members of the Duke community to grow and develop in their current roles and gain the necessary experience for advancement.

Communicator Directory

Schools and Colleges

Arts & Sciences, Trinity College of
Deborah Hill, associate dean, communications
dahill@duke.edu
919-660-3211
http://trinity.duke.edu/

Business, Fuqua School of
Elizabeth Hogan, associate dean, global marketing
elizabeth.hogan@duke.edu
919-660 7714
http://fuqua.duke.edu/ 

Divinity School
Audrey Ward, executive director of communications
audrey.ward@duke.edu
919-660-3416
http://www.divinity.duke.edu/news-media

Engineering, Pratt School of
Minnie Glymph, director of communications and marketing
minnie.glymph@duke.edu
919-660-8403
http://www.pratt.duke.edu/

Environment , Nicholas School of the
Scottee Cantrell, associate dean for marketing, communications and strategic engagement
scottee@duke.edu
919-613-8074
http://www.nicholas.duke.edu/news

Graduate School
John Zhu, senior public affairs officer
john.zhu@duke.edu
919-684-1665
http://gradschool.duke.edu/

Law School
Andrew Park, executive director of communications and events
andrew.park@law.duke.edu
919-613-7034
http://www.law.duke.edu/news/

Medicine, School of
Jill Boy, director of communications
jill.boy@duke.edu
919-613-8637
http://medschool.duke.edu/
Other communications contacts: http://medschool.duke.edu/communications/communicators-network/primary-contacts

School of Nursing
Michael Evans, director of communications
michael.evans2@duke.edu
919-684-9356
http://nursing.duke.edu/ 

Public Policy, Sanford School of
Karen Kemp, assistant dean for communications and marketing
karen.kemp@duke.edu
919-613-7394
http://sanford.duke.edu/

Institutes and Centers

Brain Sciences, Duke Institute for
Julie Rhodes, director of communications
julie.rhodes@duke.edu
919-613-5014
http://dibs.duke.edu/ 

Cancer Institute
Karen E. Butler, director of communications
karen.e.butler@duke.edu
919-684-3752
http://www.cancer.duke.edu/ 

Career Center
Megan Wilson, program and marketing coordinator
megan.wilson@duke.edu
919-660-1076
http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/career 

Clinical Research Institute
Sherri D. Foster, director of medical communications and CEE operations
sherry.foster@duke.edu
919-668-5914
http://www.dcri.duke.edu/ 

Documentary Studies, Center for
Elizabeth Phillips, communications director
elizabeth.d.phillips@duke.edu
919-660-3668
http://documentarystudies.duke.edu/

Ethics, Kenan Institute for
Katherine Scott, communications and advancement manager
katherine.e.scott@duke.edu
919-660-3035
http://kenan.ethics.duke.edu/ 

Global Health Institute
Diana Harvey, associate director of communications and marketing
diana.harvey@duke.edu
919-681-7718
http://globalhealth.duke.edu/media/news

Human Vaccine Institute
Larry Freeman, events director
larry.freeman@duke.edu
919-681-1095
http://dhvi.duke.edu/

Humanities Institute, John Hope Franklin
Christina Chia, assistant director for programs & communications
christina.chia@duke.edu
919-668-1902
http://www.jhfc.duke.edu/ 

Lemur Center
Niki Barnett, education programs manager/development officer/marketing
niki.barnett@duke.edu
919-401-7226
http://lemur.duke.edu/

Science & Society
VACANT
http://scienceandsociety.duke.edu/

Social Equity, Consortium for
Camille Jackson, senior public relations specialist
camille.jackson@duke.edu
919-684-4807

Social Sciences Research Institute
Courtney Orning, communications director
courtney.orning@duke.edu
919-681-1972
http://www.ssri.duke.edu/

Departments and Programs

Athletics
Jon Jackson, associate athletic director for university and public affairs
jackson@duaa.duke.edu
919-684-2633
Art Chase, sports information director
chasea@duaa.duke.edu
919-684-2633
http://www.goduke.com/

Bass Connections at Duke
Wendy Brody Walker, director of communications, interdisciplinary studies at Duke
wendy.brody@duke.edu
919-684-5379
http://bassconnections.duke.edu/ 

DukeEngage
VACANT
http://dukeengage.duke.edu/

Duke Performances
Ariel Fielding, marketing director
ariel.fielding@duke.edu
919-660-3348
http://dukeperformances.duke.edu/ 

Libraries
Aaron Welborn, director of communications
aaron.welborn@duke.edu
919-660-5816
http://library.duke.edu/ 

Music Department
Elizabeth Thompson, promotions specialist
ethomps@duke.edu
919-660-3333
http://music.duke.edu/news-events

Talent Identification Program (TIP)
Katy Munger, director of communications
kathleen.munger@duke.edu
919-668-9153
http://www.tip.duke.edu/

Theater Studies, Department of
Miriam Sauls, director of theater and communications
miriam.sauls@duke.edu
919-660-3346
http://theaterstudies.duke.edu/

Offices and Administrative Units

Alumni Affairs
Michael Penn, senior director of communications and marketing
michael.penn@duke.edu
919-681-6217
http://www.dukealumni.com/
http://today.duke.edu/alumni

Arts, Vice Provost Office
Beverly Meek, manager, marketing and audience development
beverly.meek@duke.edu
919-684-4687
http://arts.duke.edu/ 

Chapel
Adrienne Koch, special assistant for communications
adrienne.koch@duke.edu
919-684-2032
http://www.chapel.duke.edu/events 

Civic Engagement, Office of
Elisabeth Holden, civic engagement fellow
elisabeth.holden@duke.edu
919-668-0456
http://civic.duke.edu/ 

Development, Office of University
Jennifer Haslip, executive director of marketing and communications
jennifer.haslip@duke.edu
919-684-2123
http://dukeforward.duke.edu/news/

Duke Today
Geoffrey Mock, Duke Today news editor and manager of internal communications
geoffrey.mock@duke.edu
919-681-4514
http://today.duke.edu/ 

Durham and Regional Affairs, Office of
Lindsey Naylor, senior program coordinator
919-668-1967
https://community.duke.edu/

Energy Initiative
Margaret Lillard, associate director of communications
ma.lillard@duke.edu
919-513-0436
http://energy.duke.edu/ 

Entrepreneurship Initiative, Innovation &
Nancy Knowles, director of strategic communications
nancy.knowles@duke.edu
919-613-6320
http://entrepreneurship.duke.edu/

Federal Relations, Office of
Christopher Simmons, associate vice president
chris.simmons@duke.edu
919-668-6270
http://federalrelations.duke.edu/ 

Gardens, Sarah P. Duke
Orla Swift, director of marketing and communications
orla.swift@duke.edu
919-668-6451
http://gardens.duke.edu/ 

Global Communications
Laura Brinn, executive director
laura.brinn@duke.edu
919-681-8975
http://global.duke.edu/ 

Hospital, Duke
Antoinette Parker, director of communications
antoinette.parker@duke.edu
919-681-3149
http://www.dukemedicine.org/locations/duke-university-hospital 

Human Resources
Paul Grantham, assistant vice president of communication services
paul.grantham@duke.edu
919-681-4534
http://www.hr.duke.edu/

Information Technology, Office of
VACANT
http://www.oit.duke.edu/ 

Integrative Medicine
Eric Reese, marketing manager
eric.reese@duke.edu
919-660-6827
http://www.dukeintegrativemedicine.org/ 

ISLAMiCommentary
Julie Poucher Harbin, writer
julie.harbin@duke.edu
919-681-1515
http://islamicommentary.org/ 

Leadership Education at Duke Divinity
Kelly Gilmer, executive director
kgilmer@div.duke.edu
919-613-5338
http://www.faithandleadership.com/ 

Magazine, Duke
Robert Bliwise, editor
robert.bliwise@daa.duke.edu
919-684-2883
http://www.dukemagazine.duke.edu/ 

Marketing and Strategic Communications, Office of
Denise Haviland, executive director
denise.haviland@duke.edu
919-613-6771
http://publicaffairs.duke.edu/communications/strategic 

Media Services
Tom Wilson, production supervisor
t.wilson@duke.edu
919-660-1742
http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/ucae/media-services/production-services 

Medical Center/Duke Medicine
Doug Stokke, associate vice president, news & communications
doug.stokke@duke.edu
919-684-4148
http://corporate.dukemedicine.org/news_and_publications/news_office

Museum of Art, Nasher
Wendy Livingston, manager of marketing and communications
wendy.hower@duke.edu
919-684-3314
http://www.nasher.duke.edu/

News & Communications, Office of
Main office and general media inquiries: 919-684-2823
David Jarmul, associate vice president
david.jarmul@duke.edu
919-684-6815
Keith Lawrence, executive director
keith.lawrence@duke.edu
919-681-8059
http://newsoffice.duke.edu/ 

Online Education Initiative
Courtney Lockemer, senior public relations specialist
courtney.lockemer@duke.edu
919-660-8463
http://online.duke.edu

Photography
Chris Hildreth, director
hildreth@duke.edu
919-684-4391
http://dukephoto.duke.edu/ 

Police
Peter Jeffries, communications and records manager
peter.jeffries@duke.edu
919-684-2068
http://duke.edu/police

President’s Office
Carolyn Gerber, special assistant to the president
carolyn.gerber@duke.edu
919-684-2424
http://president.duke.edu/

Press, Duke University
Emily Young, books marketing director
eyoung@duke.edu
919-687-3654
http://www.dukeupress.edu/index.php 

Research, Duke
Karl Bates, director of research communications
karl.bates@duke.edu
919-681-8054
http://research.duke.edu/ 

Social Media
Cara Rousseau, manager of social and digital media strategy
cara.rousseau@duke.edu
919-491-5018
http://socialmedia.duke.edu/ 

Student Affairs, Division of
Christian Heltne, director of communications
chris.heltne@duke.edu
919-684-3737
http://studentaffairs.duke.edu/

Sustainability, Environmental
Tavey McDaniel Capps, environmental sustainability director
tavey.mcdaniel@duke.edu
919-660-1434
http://sustainability.duke.edu/

Undergraduate Education, Office of
Susan Kauffman, director of communications
susan.kauffman@duke.edu
919-681-2844
http://undergraduatedean.duke.edu/
http://today.duke.edu/students

Undergraduate Scholars and Fellows, Office of (OUSF)
Melody Hunter-Pillion, associate director of communications and events
melody.hunter.pillion@duke.edu
919-660-2416
http://ousf.duke.edu/

Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Sheena Cooper, marketing manager
scooper@wdigc.com
919-313-2822
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Working@Duke
Leanora Minai, director of communications, HR Communications
leanora.minai@duke.edu
919-681-4533
http://today.duke.edu/working